Quality Improvement


Dr. Wallace

Dr. Wallace completed his undergraduate training in Mechanical Engineering at Queen’s University. He then attended medical school at Dalhousie University prior to completing a General Surgery Residency at the University of Alberta. After practicing community general surgery in Kamloops for 11 years he attended the University of Ottawa for a Colorectal Surgery Fellowship while working on a Masters in Patient Safety and Clinical Human Factors from the University of Edinburgh.

Dr. Wallace is a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and the American College of Surgeons. He practices general and colorectal surgery at Royal Inland Hospital in Kamloops, BC. His clinical areas of interest include colorectal and minimally invasive surgery. He is active in patient safety and quality improvement work. He is a Surgeon Champion for the National Surgery Quality Improvement Program (NSQIP) and was the team leader for the Enhanced Recovery After Colon Surgery initiative at Royal Inland Hospital. He currently serves as the Surgical Lead for the BC Patient Safety Quality Council, the Co-chair of the BC Surgical Preoperative Optimization Collaborative and the Chair of the BC Cancer Agency Colorectal Surgical Tumour Group.

Our vision for surgical care in BC is to use evidence-based, data-driven programs, to decrease adverse events, and provide better outcomes and experiences for the 200,000 British Columbians who undergo surgery each year. This must be achieved while realizing better value in our healthcare system and maintaining provider satisfaction. Surgeons have the opportunity to lead networks of clinicians, nurses, allied health, quality improvement consultants, and administrative leaders in re-designing our complex healthcare systems and processes to meet the evolving needs of our patients and communities. In BC a unique, grass-roots approach to surgical quality improvement has been successfully supported by partnerships between the Doctors of BC Specialist Services Committee, the BC Patient Safety Quality Council and the Ministry of Health.